Loading Events

Demystifying the French: A Panel Discussion

Aliance Francais Panel Discussion with Mark Greenside, Janet Hulstrand, Adrian Leeds, and Harriet Welty Rochefort

Details

Date:
August 28
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EDT
Event Category:
View Event Website

Venue

Virtual Event
You'll receive login details upon registration.

Saturday, August 28, 2021
10:00 a.m. Pacific/11:00 a.m. Mountain/12:00 p.m. Central/1:00 p.m. Eastern/7 p.m. France

Hosted by the Federation of Alliances Française USA
In English

Alliance Francaises USA logoWe’ve all encountered clichés about the French. We may have heard that the French can be rude and arrogant, and even perhaps that the French may secretly harbor a dislike for Americans. My goodness – ma foi – could these clichés have some truth in them? Or could there, perhaps, be some kind of culturally based misunderstanding going on?

Our panel of experts will share their insights, perspectives, and experiences, gathered over the course of many years of living, traveling, and/or working in France, and will take questions from the audience about how to understand, appreciate, and best deal with the sometimes bewildering, often admirable, nearly always fascinating ways of the French! Click here or the button below to register and get more details.

Our distinguished panel includes:

  • Mark Greenside—In 1991 he was dragged to a little village in Brittany by a girlfriend to spend the summer. He and the girlfriend fell out of love with each other, but he fell in love with the village, and to his astonishment ended up buying a home there, a rollicking adventure he recounts in his book, I’ll Never Be French (no matter what I do.  Also, entertaining is his most recent book: Mastering the Art of French Living. Website
  • Janet Hulstrand—Author of Demystifying the French: How to Love Them, and Make Them Love You. She teaches literature and culture, focusing on France, has taught since 1997: Paris: A Literary Adventure for City University in New York, and writes for Bonjour Paris, France Today, and France Revisited. Website
  • Adrian LeedsFrench property expert, HGTV personality, published journalist and author, events coordinator, marketing, public relations, and communications expert. Adrian arrived in Paris in 1994 with her family for a one-year “sabbatical” and never left. In her need to survive in the City of Light as a single mother, she created a variety of businesses devoted to assisting other expats in their quest to fulfill their dream to live in France—”French Property the American Way“. Since 2001 she has published Nouvellettres® (newsletters) three times a week that are a source of a great deal of practical information about living in France, as well as lively stories about her day-to-day experiences in Paris, Nice, and beyond. 
  • Harriet Welty Rochefort—Author of three nonfiction books about the French: French Toast, French Fried, and Joie de Vivre. A bi-national, Harriet lives with her husband, Philippe, in Paris. They divide their time between their garden apartment there and their second home in Brittany. Website

 

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members, AATF members, and free to readers of Adrian Leeds Nouvellettres®! Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10).  Click the button below to register and get more details.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining. 

Organizer

Federation of Alliances Françaises USA

SHARE THIS POST

Find out how we can help you invest in your own piece of France.